Nominations Open for 2022 City of Stamford Citizen of the Year


STAMFORD, CT – Stamford Mayor Caroline Simmons is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for 2022’s City of Stamford Citizen of the Year (COTY).

“This award gives Stamford the opportunity to reflect on the people who have made extraordinary contributions to the community we love,” said Mayor Caroline Simmons.

The COTY award is given annually to a resident whose contributions make Stamford the great place that it is. This year’s selection committee includes:

· Rick Redniss, Chair and 2016 Citizen of the Year.

· Cathy Ostuw, 2018 Citizen of the Year.

· Steve Fischer, Commander of Jewish War Veterans Post 142.

· Jon Winkel, Member-at-large.

· Jodi Gutierrez, Member-at-large.

· Gary Stone, Member-at-large.

· Natalie Coard, Member-at-large.

“Honoring veterans and high school seniors who have a demonstrated a deep commitment to our community, along with our Citizen of the Year, affords us an annual opportunity to celebrate the dedication and achievements of these phenomenal individuals,” said Rick Redniss. “Each year we look forward to learning more about all of the COTY nominees. Then we make the difficult decision of choosing just one who makes us proud to be part of this community.”

The committee’s criteria for selecting the award recipient has remained the same since the founding of the award in 1945. The chosen nominee shall:

· Demonstrate a belief in interfaith harmony.

· Possess the highest standards of responsibility in civic life.

· Help in the promotion of projects for the public welfare.

· Has personally worked with distinction to benefit Stamford on a community-wide basis.

“I encourage everyone to take a moment and reflect on your fellow residents who have made a difference in your life and Stamford’s community,” said Mayor Simmons. “Take the time to nominate a special person who consistently contributes to making Stamford the exceptional place that it is.”

Nominations must include a bullet point summary of the nominee’s background supporting the criteria listed above. Nominations can be filled out at, emailed to or mailed to:

Nominations Committee

2022 City of Stamford Citizen of the Year

22 First Street

Stamford, CT 06905

All nominations must be received by Friday, January 7, 2022.

Citizen of the Year is an annual award that has been given to one resident of Stamford every year since 1945. The award was founded by Fred Robbins, a war veteran of World War I and World War II — after he settled in Stamford and became involved in community affairs. Robbins worked with Mayor Webster Givens to establish the Citizen of the Year award. Mayor Givens appointed Post 142 of the Jewish War Veterans of the United States to be the sponsoring organization for the award. Post 142 has sponsored the award on behalf of the City for 75 years and in that time the award has honored more than 75 men and women who have served the Stamford Community.



Prior City of Stamford Citizens of the Year:


1945 Father John Kelley 1983 Julius M. Wilensky

1946 C. Russell Waterbury 1984 Joseph F. Fahey

1947 Rabbi David W. Pearlman 1985 Sylvia Rosenfield

1948 Rev. Lloyd F. Worley 1986 Frank D. Rich, Jr.

1949 Walter H. Wheeler, Jr. 1987 S. Beatrice Foreman

1950 Benjamin Bogin 1988 Norman T. Woodbury

1951 Sarah F. Smith 1989 Jane F. Norgren

1952 Norris E. Pierson 1990 John T. D. Rich

1953 Gibbs Lyons 1990 Elizabeth P. Rich

1954 Jean Ware Hoyt 1991 Lynne R. Laitman

1955 Harold E. Rider 1992 Charles A. Guinta

1956 Pat Marshall 1993 Charles C. Judd

1957 Harry Rosenbaum 1993 Jane M. Judd

1958 Joseph E. Morrow 1994 John A. Ball

1959 Rev. Donald F. Campbell 1995 Michael J. Cacace

1960 J. Walter Kennedy 1996 George B. Harvey

1961 Walter Thayer 1998 Adele Gordon

1962 Thomas C. Mayers 1999 Polly O’Brien

1963 T. Carter Dodd 2000 Len Miller

1964 Rev. Russell McGown 2001 Sam Cingari

1965 Doris Kirshbaum 2002 Rev. Winton M. Hill III

1966 John F. Cameron 2003 Marc Lyons, Jr.

1967 Herbert B. Kohn 2004 Rick Robustelli

1968 Dr. Peter Goldmark 2005 Sandy Goldstein

1969 Thomas J. Feeney 2006 Al Sanseverino

1970 Rev. Cyrill S. Peters 2007 June Rosenthal

1971 Dr. Angelo Mastrangelo 2008 Richard E. Taber

1972 John O. Nicklis 2009 Juanita T. James

1973 Charles A. Ukkerd 2010 Bobby Valentine

1974 Alphonsus J. Donahue, Jr. 2011 Arthur Selkowitz

1975 Louis Lotstein 2012 Jami Sherwood

1976 Lillian Moran 2013 Timothy J. Curtin, Jr

1977 Tony P. Pia 2014 Gene Rubino

1978 Pobie Johnston 2015 Jay Sandak

1979 Edith Sherman 2015 Mary Sommer

1980 Fred T. Allen 2016 Richard W. Redniss

1981 Wayne L. Tyson 2017 Dudley N. Williams, Jr

1982 Christel Truglia 2018 Dannel P. Malloy

2019 Cathy Ostuw

Share This Post